Expect the unexpected as Simpson Speedway revs up

SIMPSON Speedway officials have added variety and innovation to the formula 500 format for their meeting  tomorrow night.

A largely south-west field of about 25 will take to the track for the fourth night of the Simpson Speedway season, dubbed the Simvegas Nationals.

Tyler Owen and Shane Van Duynhoven will represent Warrnambool, while Terang’s Ash and Dale Sinclair, Purnim’s Chris Bellman and Scotts Creek’s Matt Symone are also top chances.

Simpson Car Club president Alan Symons said the meeting format included a random aspect designed to keep driver interest high. Drivers will have two heats to open their accounts, with the top 18 on points progressing directly to a 15-lap feature.

The first across the line in the feature will then draw a marble numbered four, six or eight out of a jar. The number will determine how many cars have their positions reversed for a second feature, this time over 20 laps.

The winner could start the second feature from position eight, but could ride his luck and be off the second row.

The winner of the Simvegas Nationals is the highest point-scorer across the two features and will take home $500.

Symons said the aim of the initiative was to “try something different”, with drivers getting tired of the standard heats, B main and A main format.

He said fans would also get the chance to see crew members making running repairs to the cars on the track between the features.

Symons said the Simvegas Nationals field had been slightly depleted because of the Peter Redpath Memorial race running on the same night in Tasmania. Leigh Van Ginneken and Dylan Willsher are among those bound for the Apple Isle.

Junior sedans are also in action at Simpson Speedway, chasing victory in the Councillors Cup, while super rods complete the bill.


Discuss "Expect the unexpected as Simpson Speedway revs up"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.