Bias on bowls | Western District Bowls Division penannt season to start this weekend

CHAMPION: Warrnambool's Diane Mugavin was crowned the women's over 60 champion, defeating clubmate Linda Creek 21-9 in the final.
CHAMPION: Warrnambool's Diane Mugavin was crowned the women's over 60 champion, defeating clubmate Linda Creek 21-9 in the final.

Finally the pennants start this weekend, all practice matches have been played and the teams have now been selected.  

To maintain an even number of games for sides in Saturday pennant, division one has three teams with a bye this weekend: Dennington Red, Terang Green and Warrnambool Gold. 

The game of the round could be Warrnambool Blue at home to Timboon Gold. There should also be a lot of interest in the Koroit Blue and Lawn Tennis Red game to see how much of a difference, if any, new recruit Matty Stewart makes for Lawn Tennis.

In Tuesday pennant division one, the game of the round should come from last year’s finalists Koroit Orange at home to the premiers Warrnambool Gold.

Divisional fours were hotly contested last weekend at City Memorial.  In the women’s event, the Dennington team of Maureen Drennan, Sheridan Barling, Polly Rabl and Gayle Taylor defeated Maree Johnson, Kathleen Brocket, Jane Rae and Immy Gill from Warrnambool, 25 shots to 10.

The men’s event saw exactly the same result as last year, with the same two teams playing off and again a one-shot result at the end.

Winners from Koroit Les Johnson, Jack Murnane, Steve Quinlan and Wayne Cooper defeated City’s Kevin O’Keefe, Bruce Collie, Ray Cooknell and Matt Flemming 16 shots to 15.

Over 60 singles has also been run and won. In an all-Warrnambool women’s final, Diane Mugavin defeated Linda Creek 21 to 9.  Ray Hoy defeated Colin Davey – both from City Memorial – 21 to 16 to take the men’s championship.

Diane and Ray will now contest the regional event on Sunday, October 15 in the Corangamite area.

In upcoming events, the women’s over 60 pairs will be played at Dennington on Wednesday, October 18 and the men’s over 60 pairs will be played on the same day at Terang.

The Port Fairy club has already completed its men’s singles championship, with current Victorian state novice singles champion Nick Seekamp defeating five-time club champion Colin Wilson.

The finals of the 100-up for Lawn Tennis will be played this Sunday. In the men’s, experienced campaigner Barry Crisp will take on the winner of Leo Keane and Matty Stewart.  In the women’s, Cathy Finn will play the winner of Rose Alderman and Gertie Battistello.  The club mixed pairs also got underway last week.

The Warrnambool club gets its championship events under way this Monday night and Tuesday night under their new lights, with the start of the men’s 100-up.

City Memorial is currently getting teams together for its annual ‘Corporate Cup’ event, commencing on the night of Wednesday, November 1, and concluding on December 6.

Good luck to all teams in their first hit-out for the year and welcome to all the new bowlers in the division.