Warrnambool Racing Club shortlisted for 2016-17 Country Racing Victoria awards

LEADER: Warrnambool Racing Club chief executive Peter Downs.

LEADER: Warrnambool Racing Club chief executive Peter Downs.

WARRNAMBOOL and Casterton are among five racing clubs shortlisted for the 2016-17 Country Racing Victoria club of the year award.

Cranbourne, Stony Creek and Ballarat are the other contenders for the prestigious award which will be presented at a gala function in Melbourne on August 26.

Clubs will be judged on their performance for the 2016-17 racing season against a set criteria including profitability, attendance, sales, sponsorship and owner engagement.

Warrnambool’s three-day May carnival received a nomination for the event of the year award.

It faces seven contenders – Ballarat, Burrumbeet, Geelong, Swan Hill, Warracknabeal, Wodonga and Wycheproof – which were all nominated for their cup meetings.

This award will be judged on a set criteria which includes attendance, financial performance and community engagement.

Reigning Warrnambool Cup winner, the Darren Weir-trained High Church, is one of five horses shortlisted for the horse of the year award. 

The other nominees are Golden Oldies, London Fog, Patch Adams and Vianden.

Horses must have had at least three starts on Victoria country tracks to qualify for the award.


Discuss "Region’s clubs in Country Racing Victoria awards hunt"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.