Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic qualifying night fields announced

GRAND GOALS: Warrnambool driver Jamie Veal is chasing a second Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic crown. Picture: Amy Paton
GRAND GOALS: Warrnambool driver Jamie Veal is chasing a second Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic crown. Picture: Amy Paton

DEFENDING champion Jamie Veal must overcome a star-studded field if he is to add a second Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic crown to his resume.

The Warrnambool driver is among 106 entries for the three-day showcase which starts at Premier Speedway on January 20.

The field has been split in half for two nights of qualifying.

Veal has drawn Knoxville Nationals champion Jason Johnson, former Classic winner Max Dumesny, American contender Terry McCarl and fellow south-west driver James McFadden on night two.

Former Classic title-holders Kyle Hirst, Steven Lines, Ian Loudoun, Kerry Madsen and Shane Stewart will compete on night one, alongside strong fancies Brooke Tatnell and Brad Sweet.

Premier Speedway general manager David Mills said a tweak to the points system would give more drivers a chance to compete for a coveted A-Main berth on the final night.

The A, B and C-Mains will include additional points for the top- five finishers plus bonus points for any car passes.

“Over the past couple of years Brad Sweet and Kraig Kinser were involved in incidents in the heat races and relegated to the C and B starts and both then raced deep in the A-Main and put on a show,” Mills said.

“With the points tally, there was no real reward for them to race hard because they were still confined to the C-Main on the final night.”


Kerry Madsen, Ben Atkinson, Craig Vanderstelt, Brooke Tatnell, Ian Loudoun, Steven Lines, Tim Hutchins, Kyle Hirst, Mark House, Chris Rodda, Jason Pryde, Aidan Hall, Bryan Mann, Luke Oldfield, Scott Reilly, Jordyn Brazier, Brian Brown, Callum Zizek, Lachlan McHugh, Jack Lee, Taylor Milling, Andrew Hughes, Brenten Farrer, Eddie Lumbar, Terry Kelly, Grant Anderson, Ben Ellement, Jake Tranter, Tim Rankin, Jackson Delamont, Adam King, Peter Milnes, Jessie Attard, Matt Dumesny, Jordyn Charge, Robert Nicholas, John Vogels, Sam Putland, Chad Ely, Charles Hunter, Darren Jensen, Bradley Maiolo, Chris Campbell, David Murcott, Steven Greer, Greg Hodnett, Braydon Willmington, Jamie Heyen, Corey McCullagh, Sammy Walsh, Brendan Guerin, Carson Macedo, Brad Sweet.


Cory Eliason, Dominic Scelzi, Domain Ramsay, Lisa Walker, Danny Reidy, Max Dumesny Toby Bellbowen, Robbie Farr, Harli White-Hines, Daniel Harding, Harley Bishop, Daniel Sayre, Dennis Jones, James McFadden, Brad Keller, Glen Sutherland, Shaun Dobson, Chace Karpenko, Jimmy Gardiner, Ricky Maiolo, Jason Johnson, Terry McCarl, Jamie Veal, Mitchell Gee, Tim Van Ginneken, Max Johnston, Shane Sheedy, Daniel Evans, Daniel Pestka, Marcus Dumesny, Darren Clarke, Darren Mollenoyux, Richard Morgan, Ashley Scott, Rhiannon Burleigh, Kevin Titman, Ryan Jones, David Aldersley, Ian Madsen, Shane Stewart, Courtney O'Hehir, Jake Smith, Michael Cunningham, Glen Saville, Brayden Parr, Peter Bourke, Luke Dillon, Robbie Paton, Bradley Warren, Matt Egel, Mitchell Wormall, Peter Doukas, Jamie Maiolo.


Discuss "Revved up"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.