Panmure leader returns against Nirranda

PANMURE coach Simon “Tocka” O’Keefe will play his first match in five rounds when the Bulldogs host Nirranda at Panmure Recreation Reserve.

Justin Harzmeyer’s form on the training track and in the reserves earned him a recall for Russells Creek.141715AS29 Picture: AARON SAWALL

Justin Harzmeyer’s form on the training track and in the reserves earned him a recall for Russells Creek.141715AS29 Picture: AARON SAWALL

O’Keefe, who has battled a persistent quad complaint, is among three changes to the side which accounted for Timboon Demons last round.

Veteran forward Jason Mifsud also returns from a hamstring tear which has sidelined him since round nine, while defender Nathan Shand is back.

Matt Smith, Dan Ryan and Dylan Payne make way as the fight for spots within the playing group heats up.

Nirranda made two changes after losing to Old Collegians, regaining Marcus Roberts and Matt Hoy for Josh Irving and coach Aidan Cole.

Injecting experience was also the theme at Merrivale, which welcomes Deakin University to Merrivale Recreation Reserve.

Former South Warrnambool coach Matt Peake will play for the first time since suffering a hamstring injury on the opening day of the season.

Ruckman Manny Sandow is also back after a holiday,  while Josh Sobey is named but is a wait-and-see prospect after battling a shoulder injury.

The inclusions came at the expense of another key tall, Rhys Raymond, who has a calf problem.

James Fary was omitted but could play should Sobey not get up. Josh Britton, the sub last round, is the other out.

Deakin University named an extended bench, with selectors waiting on the fitness of a couple of players.

Brandon Cole and C.J. Hobbs come in after missing the upset defeat to Russells Creek, while ruckman Jarrod Stafford is unavailable.

Timboon Demons face a stern test of depth when they take on South Rovers at Timboon Recreation Reserve.

The Demons will be without onballers Dylan Cahill and Luke Davison — two top-tier players — for the eighth-versus-ninth clash.

Teenagers Joel Moriarty, Ryan Smith and Ben Saunders are among the inclusions, along with Kris Ward.

South Rovers regained Sam Monk after two best-on-ground performances in the reserves, among three changes.

Jess McCosker and Jack Sheehan are also back at the expense of Caleb Bourke, Josh Bell and Tom Hirst.

Full-back Scott Williams makes a timely comeback for Old Collegians as the Warriors gear up for a tough run towards finals.

Williams fractured a fibula against Allansford in round three and returns for the sides’ second meeting of the season at Davidson Oval.

Jacob Lacy was the unlucky player to make way, with coach Daryl Beechey having welcome selection headaches to deal with. 

Allansford included former Nirranda and Koroit player Morgan Van der Mark for his first senior match for the club.

Adam Ryan and Sam Holloway are also back, while Travis Membrey and Jason Wilson will miss with injury, with one still to be omitted.

Membrey suffered a depressed cheekbone in the last minute against Merrivale last round, while Wilson has a hamstring problem.

Kurt Smith and Ben Parkinson return for Dennington as it eyes a confidence-boosting victory against Russells Creek at Dennington Recreation Reserve.

Jacob Morris (unavailable) and Ben Morris (ankle) make way, while Darcy Lewis and Andrew Niklaus are still yet to return.

Russells Creek made six changes. The Kangaroos lost veteran Shaun McDougall to a hand injury but regained Justin Harzmeyer and Tahi Pompey. 

Kolora-Noorat will be unchanged for its match against East Warrnambool at Noorat Recreation Reserve.

East Warrnambool lost goalkicker Pete Shepherd (Achilles) and midfield tough nut Ash Sumner (hamstring), adding Cale Jarvis and debutant Luke Hadden.


Discuss "Panmure leader returns against Nirranda"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.