Yambuk veteran's double distinction

YAMBUK veteran Steve Gleeson made it back-to-back Grassmere Cricket Association cricketer of the year wins last night.

Steve Gleeson: respected and admired.

Steve Gleeson: respected and admired.

The polished opener edged out Killarney recruit Joel Henry in a tight vote count on his way to a third top-grade honour.

Gleeson, who took over the Buks captaincy mid-season, polled 19 votes, three clear of Henry, who returned to the sport after a decade-long break.

Panmure’s Chris Bant (14 votes) was third and Hawkesdale’s Murray Habel a vote further adrift.

Gleeson collected the batting average with an imposing 105.80 record and Bant the batting aggregate with 750 runs.

Killarney’s Brayden Buchanan won the bowling aggregate with 32 scalps and teammate Peter Hickey the bowling average with 9.07.

Grassmere stalwart Peter Sedgley took out the wicket-keeping award with 19 dismissals and Woolsthorpe’s Bradley Bell the under 19 rising star award.

Association president and Yambuk player James Sinnott said Gleeson was a deserving winner of the award.

Sinnott said the accomplished batsman’s season highlighted his poise, nous and concentration.

Gleeson made two tons and four half-centuries. “In the innings he’s played,  sometimes he’s batted aggressively and other times he’s been a wall and has batted in partnerships,” Sinnott said.

“I have so much respect and admiration for what he does and the way he goes about his cricket.

“He is a great inspiration for the young kids at Yambuk to look up to.”

Yambuk’s Jamie Squires won the B grade cricketer of the year award, beating Woolsthorpe pair Shannon Richardson and Bradley Bell, who finished second and third respectively. 

Squires won the batting aggregate with 438 runs and Panmure’s Ben Mahony the batting average with 69.50.

Bell and Grassmere’s Luke McElgunn shared the bowling aggregate with 24 wickets each.

McElgunn also collected the bowling average honours with 9.38, while Grassmere’s Paul Daley won the wicketkeeping award with 11 dismissals.

Hawkesdale’s Paul Huf was named C grade cricketer of the year and collected the batting aggregate for his 591 runs.

Mailors Flat’s Mark Hammond finished runner-up and Purnim’s Glenn Mansbridge was third.

Yambuk’s Ashley Rendell collected the batting average with 91.20.

Mailors Flat’s Steve Edwards, Wangoom’s Glen Jens and Purnim’s Rhys Cooper tied for the batting aggregate with 20 scalps each and Yambuk’s Jack Sproal the bowling average with 10.93.

Killarney’s Nathan Gould claimed 13 dismissals to take out the wicketkeeping award.

Panmure’s Pat Ryan won the colts’ cricketer of the year award from Wangoom’s Lachlan Sinclair and Bulldogs teammate Sam James.

Pat collected the bowling average with 2.36 and wicketkeeping award with five dismissals. Lachlan won the batting average with 37.50.


Discuss "Yambuk veteran's double distinction"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.