Bell's drought-breaking SRA round win at Simpson

ALLANSFORD driver Stephen Bell ended a two-year drought with an emphatic win in round 10 of the Sprintcar Racing Association of Victoria series at Simpson’s speedway.

Stephen Bell acknowledges supporters after his SRA round victory at Simpson.

Stephen Bell acknowledges supporters after his SRA round victory at Simpson.

Bell, a two-time Victorian champion, completed a flag-to-flag triumph in the feature race, leading home Melbourne’s Domain Ramsay and Simpson’s favourite son John Vogels.

It was Bell’s first victory since he sensationally dead-heated in the state title in March 2012.

“We had a good night,” Bell said.

“Probably a bit overdue.”

Bell said the Simpson track surface had been good.

While Bell is not chasing the series crown, the win was a boost for him and his team, led by car owner Matt Eastham, as they enter a busy period leading up to the season’s end next month.

Bell had no time to celebrate his success, getting back behind the wheel for last night’s round 11 at Avalon.

Ramsay was the highest points scorer during qualifying and elected to start the feature race from position two, leaving Bell on pole. Bell won the drag into the first corner and was never headed during a dramatic race.

The drama was back in the field rather than with Bell, who was comfortable in front. 

Series contender Brett Milburn rode out his second wild roll of the night during the feature. 

During the stoppage, a circuit breaker in the track lighting system failed, putting turns one and two in partial darkness.

The problem was rectified and when the racing resumed, Vogels did well to hold off fast-finishing Warrnambool’s Jamie Veal. Veal loomed up beside Vogels several times but couldn’t find a way around him.

Dubbo’s Jeremy Cross extended his lead in the series after finishing fifth. 

Tasmanian Shaun Dobson, driving the Warrnambool-owned Droste Motorsport Team car, narrowed the gap between him and second-placed Milburn in the series, after finishing eighth.

Warrnambool’s Luke McCutcheon won the wingless sprints final, ahead of Cobden pair Rhys Baxter and Andrew Chivell.


Discuss "Bell's drought-breaking SRA round win at Simpson"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.