Madsen chases fourth Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic title

THE Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic has raced past 80 entries.

Three-time Classic winner Kerry Madsen, who collected the 2005, 2006 and 2008 crowns, has committed to the 42nd running in January, along with American Travis Rilat.

Madsen was forced to miss last year’s event due to racing commitments in the United States.

The Australian has an impeccable recent record at the Classic.

On top of his three victories, including a flag-to-flag 40-lap win in 2008, Madsen finished second behind Max Dumesny in 2004 and third in 2009 and 2012.

The hard-charging Aussie will bring his Keneric Racing-backed N29 KPC Chassis to Warrnambool.

Rilat etched himself into Classic folklore in 2004 when he and Erin Crocker infamously made contact in turn four of a B main, an incident that denied both drivers a transfer via conventional means to the A main. 

Crocker started the feature in a different car.

Rilat has found racing momentum again after injuries from a tragic accident which killed his close friend Tyson Perez in 2010.

Rilat will be campaigning a car for PJS Motorsports.

Four Victorians have joined the Classic field: former speedcar star Harley Bishop, Mitch Foster, Quentin Tanner and Jake Smith.

The Allansford-based Smith is a convert from the wingless sprints division.

Robin Dawkins will return to the Classic as a driver aboard his Tasmania #29.

Kerry Madsen: Classic entry.

Kerry Madsen: Classic entry.


Discuss "Madsen chases fourth Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic title"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.