Bittersweet win for bowler of the year

A NEAR-flawless final game has lifted pin rattler Brendan Parsons to a “bittersweet” Warrnambool Tenpin Bowling Association bowler of the year award.

Parsons claimed the season-ending title by winning a best-of-the-best handicap tournament at the Timor Street lanes.

The 32-year-old finished with a pinfall 138 above his average after four games on Sunday to top the eight-bowler field.

But the victory came in agonising fashion — his final-game effort of 299 won him the title but was one pin short of tenpin bowlers’ holy grail — a perfect game.

Parsons, who started with an average of 186, opened with a below-par 168 before games of 224, 191 and 299 earned him the come-from-behind win.

“To tell you the truth in the last game I considered myself out of the tournament, I didn’t stand a chance,” he said. “It was more the chance of a 300 that kept me going.

“Every bowler aims for that and to end up with a 299, then they tell me I’ve won, it was more the devastation of not getting the 300.

“I’ve had a lot of young friends come in and they’ve bowled one and I’ve been there for close to 20 years, probably 20-plus years.

“It’s the thing beyond anything else that you aim for.”

Despite the mixed emotions at the finish, Parsons said being crowned the WTBA bowler of the year was “an honour”.

He is a former winner of the Leo Kenshole Memorial tournament and has previously represented Warrnambool at Victorian Country cups.

“Yes it is bittersweet. I didn’t get it but at the same time I can’t sneeze at it because my highest game to date was a 286,” he said.

“Once I sat back and thought about it I realised I’m one step closer.”

The eight contenders won entry to the tournament by being the top handicap bowler in each month of the WTBA season.

Runner-up Jason Drake finished with a pinfall 69 above his average of 206 after bowling games of 246, 206, 172 and 269.

Michael Lawn was third after posting a pinfall 64 above his average thanks to games of 171, 210, 161 and 134.

WTBA bowler of the year Brendan Parsons.

WTBA bowler of the year Brendan Parsons.


Discuss "Bittersweet win for bowler of the year"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.