David Owen takes number one position on Warrnambool City Council election ballot paper

READY TO CAMPAIGN: Twenty-one of the 25 Warrnambool City Council election candidates. Picture: Amy Paton

READY TO CAMPAIGN: Twenty-one of the 25 Warrnambool City Council election candidates. Picture: Amy Paton

DAVID Owen has drawn the number one position on the Warrnambool City Council election ballot paper from a whopping 25 candidates.

The computerised draw on Tuesday was over within a matter of seconds.

Mr Owen missed the ballot draw at the election office in Liebig Street because he was working.

He said fellow candidate Thomas Campbell sent him a text message, informing him he had drawn the number one position.

“I am delighted,” he said. 

“I looked at my grandfather’s picture this morning – he was the mayor of Sebastopol for a year or so and was on council for 30 years – and I thought, ‘I might need your help today’.”

Mr Owen said candidate preferences was of great significance – particularly with the large field.

“Preferences are going to be very important with this election,” he said.

“If the electorate takes their time and has a good look at who they are actually voting for and where they are going, it’s going to be most important.”

Jacinta Anderson, Thomas Campbell and Allan Wood nominated on the final day.

Candidates preferences will be critical to the election and will be disclosed over the coming days ahead of the October 22 election. 

Ballot packs will be mailed to all enrolled voters from October 4. Due to state government regulation changes, candidates cannot list their preferences within the ballot packs.

First preference votes will be divided among the 25 candidates, making it more difficult to get elected on first preference votes. 

Jacinta Ermacora was the only person elected on first preference votes in the 2012 election, with all other councillors relying on preferences.

Warrnambool City Council ballot draw: 

  • David Owen
  • Adrian Calderwood
  • Jacinta Anderson
  • Richard Ziegler
  • Michael Neoh
  • Barb Witham
  • Peter Sycopoulis
  • Adrian Jacobs
  • Thomas Campbell
  • Brian Kelson
  • Allan Wood
  • Michael McCluskey
  • Tony Herbert
  • Tricia Blakeslee
  • Ben Pholner
  • Peter Hulin
  • Christine Thompson
  • Jennifer Lowe
  • Sue Cassidy
  • Dave MacPhail
  • John Harris
  • Kylie Gaston
  • Troy Tampion
  • Rob Askew
  • Robert Anderson 

More election reports – page 5.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide