All-round surprise as Timms claims WDCA cricketer of year award

A STUNNED Kyall Timms was relaxing in Coolangatta quenching his thirst last night when he learnt he’d won Warrnambool and District Cricket Association’s division one cricketer of the year award.

The Allansford skipper flew out yesterday for a friend’s wedding tomorrow in Queensland, missing the presentation at Warrnambool Bowls Club.

Timms, 28, said his J.A Brebner Cup win was unexpected.

He also won the bowling aggregate award with 30 wickets.

“I did not even think I’d be a shot,” he said. “It’s a bit of a shock.”

Timms won a low-scoring vote count with 12, ahead of boom English recruits  Karl Turner, of West Warrnambool, and Zashan Arshad, of Merrivale, and Nestles’ Geoffrey Williams on 10 votes.

Dennington skipper Dustin Drew, Brierly-Christ Church’s Nathan Murphy, Woodford’s Jacob McKinnon and East Warrnambool’s Tharanga Fernando finished with nine votes.

“There are a hell of a lot of good cricketers on that list,” Timms said.

“To be honest I feel a bit embarrassed to be in front of them.

“Dustin Drew and Karl Turner had terrific years and led their clubs fantastically.

“I am very humbled by it and very surprised.”

Timms, a two-time Hamilton and District Cricket Association winner, returned to Allansford this season after two years in Mackay.

The all-rounder said he’d had a solid season with the ball but was disappointed with his batting. “It (my bowling) is nothing really flashy to be honest,” Timms said.

“I just bowl at the stumps. We lacked a lot of frontline bowlers in our club this year.

“We have a lot of young talent coming through and as the captain you wear the brunt of bowling the majority of the overs.

“I like to lead from the front and contribute in a positive way as much as I can.”

Timms scored more than 200 runs but said he was “very disappointed” with his batting efforts, labeling himself impatient.

He said he had relished being back at the Gators, a club he captained from 2008 to 2011, and would love to play there alongside his son one day.

“Allansford is a fantastic club,” Timms said.

“I have never seen a bunch of people work so hard to achieve the one result.”

Turner, whose debut season highlight was a double hundred against Nirranda, collected the batting average and batting aggregate awards.

He averaged 79.25 a game and notched 634 runs.

Brierly-Christ Church coach Jason Greer won the bowling average award with 11.62 and West Warrnambool captain Michael Threlfall took out the wicketkeeping honours, having claimed 19 dismissals.

Threlfall’s younger brother Ben was named rookie of the year as the association’s best first-year division one player and McKinnon claimed the Glenn Denning award for best under 21 player.

Nestles’ Brett Eldridge (Melbourne Country Week player of the week) and Allansford’s Tim McDonald (Twenty20 player of the year) were other individual award winners.

Merrivale won the club championship and Allansford the spirit of cricket title.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide