All-rounders in ascendency as best vie for SWC cricketer of the year honours

ALL-ROUNDERS are tipped to poll strongly in South West Cricket’s highest individual award tonight.

The race for the division one cricketer of the year is expected to be wide open with a number of players expected to catch the eye of the umpires after impressive seasons.

Pomborneit’s Coby Dudman was the leading wicket-taker in the association with 38 wickets at an average of 12.03, but was also productive with the bat, making 329 runs at an average of 23.5.

Noorat skipper Wil Pomorin was a standout in his side, making 665 runs at an average of 51.16. He also chimed in with 11 wickets at an average of 24.

Mortlake is again tipped to be prominent in the count. Three-time winner, Clinton Baker, has been busy with 25 wickets at an average of 10 but he hasn’t been as prolific with the bat when he won it last season, making about a third of the 693 runs he peeled off in 2012-13. His teammate Shane Slater, a former winner, might be the Cats’ main hope after an outstanding year in which he made 608 runs at an average of 43.4 and took 28 wickets at an average of 10.7.

Heytesbury Rebels will be pinning its hopes on opening batsman Simon Harkness bringing home the main prize after making 599 runs at an average of 46.1 while division one returnee Simpson will be looking to Brad Salmon to pick up votes after taking 26 wickets and making 244 runs.

Tonight’s count will be held at Noorat Recreation Reserve from 7pm, kicking off a big week for the association with its grand finals set down for Saturday.

Port Campbell faces Camperdown in the division two grand final at Terang and Simpson plays Noorat in the division three decider at Boorcan.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide