SWC juniors in a spin over selection

SOUTH West Cricket will attempt to spin its way to victory when Warrnambool Country Week gets under way next month.

Selectors have picked four spinners among the 13-player squad for division one at the under 17 tournament from January 6 to 10.

They are Callum McIlveen (Camperdown), Jono Benallack (Cobden), Jackson Rock (Cobden) and Hamish Brueckner (Terang).

The division one squad also includes Jayden Barker, Will Rowbottom, Oscar Currell (Boorcan), Henry Green, Jake Reed (Cobden); Tosh Merrett (Bookaar); Matt Baxter (Noorat); Joel Moriarty (Heytesbury Rebels); and Jack Osborne (Woorndoo).

Coach Matt Boyle said he believed good spin bowling would be a key to victory against the region’s best young cricketers. 

“What I’ve found in the past few years is kids don’t play spin all that well. We’re going to use that, see how we go,” he said.

Boyle said SWC’s strength was “definitely” its bowling. 

Reed, Currell, Osborne and Baxter are pace options.

Boyle said the side was largely top-age, with most players contesting Warrnambool Country Week in 2013.

“This year, with that extra year under their belts and having played together before and knowing what the competition is going to bring, we should win a few more games,” he said.

The under 17 division two squad is Kris Ackerley, Joe Cain, Nathan Stevens (Simpson); Geordie MacDonald (Mortlake); Ricky Flynn (Terang); Jordan Riches (Camperdown); Sam Clarke, Paul Pekin, Jack Hutt (Cobden); Jarrod Evans, Nathan Moran (Bookaar); Jordan Harris (Noorat); and Lachie Jubb (Woorndoo).

The under 15 squad, to contest Horsham Country Week, is Demby McKenzie, Jack Atkins (Camperdown); Nick Duynhoven, Hamish Huffadine (Princetown); Tom Nelson, Lachlan Hawkins (Simpson); Mathew Kemp, Charlie Darcy, Trent Reed, Joshua Hickey, Louis Cain (Cobden); Lachlan Wareham (Mortlake); Tom Gray (Woorndoo).

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide