Fab foursome give teenagers a good name

ELIJAH Ziegler and Gabriella Carty are the 2012 Warrnambool Youth Achievers — and Luke Bartlett and Rebecca Kelly are their Moyne Shire counterparts.

All four were recognised at the annual Warrnambool and Moyne youth awards last night at the Lighthouse Theatre.

They were among more than 150 young people from the two municipalities to receive awards for their achievements.

The awards cover the categories of sport, academia, arts and culture, community leadership and the new category of Impel, for young people who have achieved despite significant challenges in their lives. Elijah, an Emmanuel College year 12 student, won the Warrnambool male overall achiever award for his works in many fields, including the performing arts, the community and leadership.

He played a lead role in the Holiday Actors’ recent musical production Hairspray, served as a member of the Holiday Actors junior committee and president of Emmanuel College’s junior musical committee.

Gabriella, named Warrnambool’s overall female youth achiever, coached young children in aerobics, captained an aerobics team that competed at international level and took part in World Vision’s Global Leaders Convention.

Luke, Moyne Shire’s male overall youth achiever, works as a volunteer coach with the Warrnambool Springers gymnastics club and undertook both bronze and silver Duke of Edinburgh awards — despite his autism and severe heart problems.

Rebecca earned Moyne’s female overall award for being Brauer College year 11 dux last year and numerous sporting feats in athletics, swimming and netball.

Warrnambool mayor Michael Neoh and his Moyne Shire counterpart Jim Doukas said the awards recognised the diverse and valuable contributions made by young citizens to their communities.

Runners-up for the Moyne overall title were Tim Huglin and Shannen Bartlett, and Isaac Johnson and Jessica Lehmann for Warrnambool.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide